Mmmbop

So now it’s time to get real. Embarrassing moment round one. I used to like Hanson. Yes, Hanson. The brother boy band that came out about the time I was 12 with the catchy pop sound and the hair that was so long people often had them confused with girls. Then again, their voices kind of sounded like girls too. Their most famous song was called Mmmbop. Now there is a title. Very deep and thought-provoking. It goes a little something like this:

You have so many relationships in this life
Only one or two will last
You go through all the pain and strife
Then you turn your back and they’re gone so fast
And they’re gone so fast, yeah

So hold on to the ones who really care
In the end they’ll be the only ones there
And when you get old and start losing your hair
Tell me who will still care
Can you tell me who will still care?

Oh yeah
In an Mmmbop they’re gone
Yeah yeah

Makes you want to get up and dance, doesn’t it?

When I was 12, I don’t really remember thinking much about the lyrics, just how cool the melody sounded. But the older I’ve gotten, the more these lyrics, cheesy as they may be, have strangely enough hit home with me.

I had a BFF in the 6th grade that I adored. We gave each other best friend necklaces, made posters that said BFF, and had slumber parties. Yes, I know, I was totally the cliche junior high chick.

I have no idea where that girl is now. I actually had to pause for a second to remember her last name. Wait, still pausing. Hmm. Ok, got it.

Which just goes to show how right the Hanson boys were. We go through oh so many relationships, whether they be truly special, terrible, meaningful, or just to pass the time, and yet (in a mmmbop) they’re gone. We look back and think to ourselves, hmm – I wonder what happened to so-and-so? Wonder if they ever graduated from college? Or became a rock star? Or wrote a book? And then the baby cries, or our spouse calls from the other room, and we’re jolted back to reality, quickly forgetting about so-and-so.

This, of course, is okay. How could we possibly make room in our lives for all of the people we come across? But it does make you pause and think about those who, well, would still care when you got old. My list is quite short – Jeff, Macy, Mom, Dad. A few other close friends. And that’s pretty much it.

I remember a lady telling me that you could count your real friends on one hand. That always stuck with me. When you think about that, it makes those five (or six depending on how many fingers you have on one hand I suppose) even more special. Hold them tight. Tell them you love them. They are, after all, the ones who will still care when you lose your hair.

Leave a Reply

