Abercrombie

The last time we were home (in the US, that is), I went into Abercrombie & Fitch. I didn’t like anything.

This is how I know I’m getting old.

Random pictures of Jeff and I during our first year of marriage…

People often ask if we took this last one in front of a fake background – actually, it was taken in Alaska, which is a place so beautiful it looks like a fake background.

And here’s some more recent pics…

Now, there are obvious differences of course. The baby that appears in the lower pictures is a change. But when I look at these, I feel like we look…well, about the same as we did when we first got married.

But looks can be deceiving.

On the outside, I feel like the same person I have always been. Still like to listen to Dashboard Confessional (ah, emo music). Still like Italian food. Still like (love) to eat candy. And still like Gilmore Girls.

But on this inside, I’ve changed quite a bit. When I was younger, I never thought of my mom as a person. She was a mom. Moms weren’t people-people, they were worker-people. Mom, here’s my dirty clothes. Mom, can you make me a sandwich? Mom, can you get me some water? Mom, does this dress look okay? And so on.

But now it comes full circle. I’m now one of these Mom-worker-people. But the Me part hasn’t changed. Sure, I change diapers. And make baby food (yes, I’m as surprised as you are). I fold little onesies and put them away in drawers. I pack toys and books and an extra change of clothes before I leave the house. And extra pacifiers in case one gets lost or dropped.

And the Me part still likes to listen to my iPod, when I have a chance. And sit down and watch a random Gilmore Girls episode, while eating candy of course. And write this blog.

I never realized, well, I guess I never thought about the Me-part of my mom. She has lots of Me parts. She likes to read. She likes to go get a pedicure. She likes to have coffee with her friends. She likes to visit people in the hospital if they’re sick. She likes to buy things for other people. She has a lot of Me-parts that are really special.

It’s so interesting, how you can be so many parts in one body. I’m a wife-part, a mommy-part, a friend-part, a daughter-part, and just an Amy-part – all these little parts make up me. God made us so complicated and yet so simple all at the same time.

And so, I guess it’s okay if I don’t like Abercrombie anymore. Do those really tight shirts ever look good on anyone anyway? It’s okay to get older and think about stuff like this. It makes us appreciate people – and all their little parts – even more.

Leave a Reply

