I Really Should be Studying…

School. Some of us love it, some of us hate it, some of us stay in so long that our parents wonder if we’ll ever finish and get a real job. I’m not sure where I fit in, but I do remember actually liking school. Well, my English classes anyway.

As a senior in high school, I took Calculus (the lower level, to be honest). It was rough. First of all, I do not like math. Since I do not like math, I do not like to study math. But I wanted an A. Really wanted. So I studied. And studied. And then studied some more.

With all this studying, I definitely needed back-up. I can remember getting together with two of my good friends at one of their houses, ordering Papa John’s pizza (complete with their dessert pizza-ish thing), and eating, talking, and studying for hours. Actually, it was a lot of fun. I was such an uber-nerd that I had already done the review sheet by myself once (or maybe twice), but it was good to go through it again with them and make sure I understood everything. Misery loves company. Or something.

These “study sessions” grew at some point to include another friend and then another until they were famous. Well, famous to us at least. Before every test, I’d get home from practice, take a quick shower, and get together with them right about dinner time until it was time to go home (back then, we all had curfews). They made fun of me for already doing the review sheet (until they had a question anyway) and we would work/talk/eat. It was awesome.

I could really use that group of friends right now. I’m studying for the GRE. Yes, I’m going to attempt to get a master’s degree. Not really sure about all the details, but here are the problems I’ll run into.

1. I live overseas. The masters programs I would like to be a part of are in the States. Hmm. Must find one that is super-flexible.
2. I’m a mom. Macy’s ten months old now and if the timing works out will be about 18 months old when I start. She is BUSY. It’s not like I can be like – ok, Macy now you go play by yourself while Mommy writes her super-long paper.
3. It’s been 5 years since I was in school. Whew. Not too long, I know, but do I remember how to do school?
4. The GRE. I HATE standardized tests. They are designed to make people like me feel like a loser.
5. Well, that’s all I can think of right now. But give me a minute and I’m sure I’ll think of more.

Despite all of these listed above, I really want to go back to school. I loved my English classes at A&M and the idea of getting to study more is really appealing. Especially after five years in the “real world.” Hence the GRE.

The vocabulary is insane, the math is way over my head, and the writing section intimidates me. But little by little, I’m learning some new vocabulary, reviewing old math formulas with Jeff (anyone know the area of a triangle one?), and practicing writing. I did write my practice issue essay in about 20 minutes, which gave me a little bit of my old confidence back.

By the way, it is WAY different studying when you’re a mom. I’m trying to squeeze in studying during nap time, which is not always the most predictable way to do it. I have the utmost respect for all those moms out there that are going back to school.

I’m taking the GRE on May 24. In London. Crazy, I know, but my life is crazy. So much for vacation. At least it’ll feel like vacation once the test is over.

All this to say…I should be studying.

2 thoughts on “I Really Should be Studying…

  1. I remember all of you and those study parties – I have never had a group do that since – I’ve tried to encourage them, but none did. And by the way, you were great at Calculus and made an A!

Leave a Reply

