The Bermuda Triangle

The joy of public transportation. Most people in the States don’t have to deal with it, but we do on an almost daily basis. In some ways, it is super convenient, but in many others, it can become quite frustrating.

Let me share with you a little story I like to call The Bermuda Triangle.

Taxis here shift change twice a day, once in the morning and once in the afternoonish. I say “ish” because there isn’t really a specific time, more like a wide range of time, in the late afternoon-early evening that a cab driver can say – oh, sorry, I can’t take you there, because I’m getting off work now and headed home. Actually, it’s more like, “I won’t go”, but that’s what they really mean, right?

So when you want to travel to a different part of town around this time, it’s a good idea to give yourself some extra cushion just in case you run across several taxis who aren’t willing to go in your direction.

Factor number two is the weather. I’m sure this is the case no matter where you live. The worse the weather, the harder it is to find a cab. On a really rainy day, you might as well just plan to take the bus (they have to keep coming) or stay in until it passes.

And then there is the culture. It’s more of a first come, first serve kind of thing. Not that people are always rude, but you sometimes have to learn how to fend for yourself. Sometimes standing in line will get you nowhere.

One night, Macy and I met Jeff for dinner with some friends. He was staying behind with them, but Macy and I had big plans, including to returning home, taking a bath, and getting into bed (a little earlier than the night before, I might add).

So off we trotted to find a cab. It was raining so I had my umbrella out. It was about 6:45. And there were people waiting everywhere, holding their arms out, hoping against hope for a cab. It was…the Bermuda Triangle.

I took a deep breath and tried not to panic. I’ll find a cab, I thought. Eventually.

So we waited on the street for about 10 minutes. Only a handful of taxis passed us by and these had patrons already seated, dry and comfy, inside.

I thought it would help if I moved to an intersection. The more streets, the more cabs, right? We walked about 10 more minutes to the nearest intersection.

Right as I walked up to the intersection, a cab pulled up. It was letting people out! Go, Amy, go! I ran (well as much as you can run when you have a baby in the Ergo) and a group of people, at least 6 of them, piled into the cab before I even had a chance.

Bummer. Oh, well. I tried to be positive. At least I knew that people may be getting off here and that there is chance of a cab.

We waited. Lots and lots of cabs passed us by, but they were all full. We waited some more. I started to memorize the cycle of the intersection. I kept holding my arm out, hoping against hope that soon it would be my turn.

Three-wheeled vehicles kept passing me by. I thought, I really do NOT want to take a three-wheeled vehicle. It was really raining and it would take me probably 20 minutes to get home in one. I figured we would be soaked by the time we got home, even though they were covered, the rain would still come at you from the front.

Waited some more. Another three-wheeled vehicle passed me by. I stuck my arm out. I asked him if he would go to our apartment complex. He thought for a second and said no.

Back to the drawing board.

A young couple walked up near me. They were also looking for a cab. And they were standing closer to the intersection. Oh no, I thought.

Not too much later, there it was. A beautiful shiny cab that slowly pulled up to the intersection and stopped. Two people were definitely getting out. But the couple was closer to the cab than I was. I quickly started to walk over, trying to stake my claim.

And then the most amazing thing happened. The boyfriend started to walk over to the cab, but his girlfriend stopped him. She pointed at me and said something to him softly – probably something along the lines of – she was here first or she’s got a baby, let’s let her go first. Whatever it was, I wanted to give that girl a big hug.

I told them thank you about ten times while I waited for the two people to get out of the taxi. Macy blew them about ten kisses. They thought this was pretty cute, so hopefully it was cute enough for me to win the taxi ride.

I got in the cab and told the driver where to go and off we went. I sat back in my chair, dry and comfy, and thanked God that he had allowed me to witness such a wonderful act of kindness.

Leave a Reply

