Seven O’Clock

Every now and then a very random song will pop into my head.  Tonight, I ran over to the small clock in our living room to see what time it was.  It was seven o’clock.  On the dot.  As I was having this thought, a song popped in to my head.

“It’s seven o’clock
On the dot
I’m in my drop top
Cruisin’ the streets – oh yeah”

Now, for those of you who were in junior high in 1997 as I was, you probably recognize this song.  I am not proud that this is the song that popped into my head when I saw that it was seven o’clock.  On the dot.  I have not thought about this song, since, oh probably 1998.

Anyway, the song goes on to talk about a guy picking up a girl for a date.  It’s not a very appropriate song, so I’ll leave it at that.

The reason I thought it was so funny is that at seven o’clock, most young people are going out/being picked up for a date/picking their date up/last-minute primping since said-date is a running a little late (oh, and I rhyme).

I remember my mom calling me one night when I was a freshman in college at about 9 pm.  She said something along the lines of, “oh good, you’re in for the night.”  I said back, “um, I haven’t gone out yet.”  Oops.

Anyway, you might be wondering what I was doing this particular night at seven o’clock.  On the dot.  Well, not getting ready to go on a date.  And not primping either.  I was actually putting Macy in her butterfly pajamas and brushing her newly-shampooed hair.  Oh, how times have changed.

Tonight we ate dinner at about…oh, 5:15 PM (cringe).  Now, to our defense, we were meeting some friends at a restaurant (see, we do have friends!) and had decided on this super-early bird special time to miss most of the traffic that comes out between 5:30-6:30 pm every weekday (for more info see my post called The Bermuda Triangle).

However, this put us back at home at about…um, 6:40ish with our evening activities completed.  So by seven, we’d gotten home, unloaded our stuff, and I had given Macy a bath.  Hence the pajamas and brushing hair.  At this rate, Macy would be in bed by 7:20, I’d have the whole evening to myself, and she’d probably wake up at like 5 am.  Lucky me.

At 7:05, I washed my face.  I figure, hey, if you’re going to eat dinner at the early bird time, might as well get ready for bed early too.  From 7:10-7:50, Macy ran around with her daddy, playing soccer and chase.  At 7:50, we read books.  And then around 8ish, I put her to bed.  And now here I am at the computer – at about 8:20 blogging this to you.

All this to say, my how things have changed.  Several years ago, if it was 8:20 pm, Jeff and I could have been anywhere – eating dinner (at a normal hour), buying movie tickets for a late-night showing of the newest flick, playing a game (probably Settlers) at a friend’s house, stopping by McDonald’s for some ice cream.

So I guess this is what grown-ups do at seven o’clock.  On the dot.  Good thing I was never a huge fan of rap music to begin with.

2 thoughts on “Seven O’Clock

  1. never being a night owl myself i don’t exactly relate to the post-9 pm outings… but since the sun sets at 4 pm during the winter here in the NE we have become accustom to 5 pm dinners and 9 pm bedtimes! i guess i’ve been old from a young age! 😉

  2. It’s amazing how your life does change dramatically when you have kids. My children have noticed that same change in their lives. But the babies are definitely worth it all…wouldn’t you say?

Leave a Reply

