Here’s Your Bill

Hmm…I wonder what Macy’s bill would be so far.

Lorelai: Yes, you are, you’re all grown up and soon you’ll be going off into the world.
Rory: Not yet.
Lorelai: But soon. And after you spread those wings and fly away, I won’t have the opportunity to give you this.

[Lorelai hands her a piece of paper]

Rory: What is it?
Lorelai: It’s your bill.
Rory: My what?
Lorelai: Yeah. I’ve been crunching the numbers, you know, adding up what you’ve cost me over the years – raising you, clothing you, feeding you, et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.
Rory: Mmhmm.
Lorelai: Yes, I’ve itemized everything here by years and income ratio. I thought you could factor it into your student loan.
Rory: Oh boy.
Lorelai: One thing that’s painfully obvious here – you’ve used an extraordinary number of diapers.
Rory: I’m gonna go take a shower.
Lorelai: Really, it’s cost a fortune. What were you using all those diapers for?
Rory: I was building my ‘make Mommy go away’ castle.
3 thoughts on “Here’s Your Bill

  1. When I read the expression ‘Macy’s bill,” I thought of some of my big Macy’s bills of the past. My next thought; they will never compare with your Macy’s bill!

Leave a Reply

