The Anniversities

Yes, I know you probably think I spelled the title of this blog incorrectly.  But, alas, it was planned that way.  Here’s a little countdown of what I like to call…the anniversities.

July 29, 2003 – Jeff and I have been dating for one month.  Or was it one week?  Anyway, to us, this is a big deal.  He writes me a poem (yes, Jeff really did write me a poem) and gives me a card that says, “Happy anniversity!”  At first, I think he is kidding.  But not so much.

August 14,2004 – We get married.

August 14, 2005 – Our first anniversity.  We go to a bed and breakfast in Brenham, Texas.  Neither one of us has ever been to a bed and breakfast.  Neither one of us has ever spent significant time in Brenham, Texas.  We get there, eat at an “Italian” restaurant, walk down the street and hear a family singing in the square…hmm…and then look at each other like, “so now what do we do?”  We hit a movie theater and there is only one movie playing.  Drum roll please…it’s Dukes of Hazard.  Seriously.  It is terrible, but we watch it – I don’t laugh the entire time except for one Keyser Soze joke (The Usual Suspects movie) – but the audience loves it.  I guess I just don’t fit in small-town Texas.  We drive back to Houston the next day, fully realizing that we are big-city people.

The top tier of our cake that we saved…it was totally gross by now.  Ah, well.

I’m pretty sure I did not actually eat the cake.

August 14, 2006 – Second anniversity.  We drive to San Antonio…ah, a big city.  We have lunch at the revolving restaurant (super nice) and then hang out with Jeremy (Jeff’s brother) who was living there then.  Overall good times.

August 14, 2007 – Third anniversity.  First anniversity while living overseas.  We just so happen to be in Sydney, Australia with my parents.  Trip to see the Blue Mountains which are absolutely beautiful.  Wonderful anniversity.

Selected Sydney pics…

August 14, 2008 – Dinner at a very expensive, but totally not worth it restaurant that is supposedly Western, but oh so not Western.  However, my mom has sent Funfetti cupcakes complete with Funfetti icing in the mail and this completely makes up for the just okay dinner experience.  We go to a friend’s house to share our cupcakes and stay up way too late playing a game.  I might have even won that night.

August 14, 2009 – Fifth anniversity, but the first one with a baby.  And a 2 month old at that.  Whew.  All I wanted to do was stay home and sleep.  Macy had gotten her 2 month shots the day before, so that day she was feeling pretty sleepy too.  She slept while we watched “Sleepless in Seattle” – one of my all-time favorite movies.  Jeff made a wonderful chicken parmigiana and there were more Funfetti cupcakes for dessert.

Random Macy sleeping pic not from our anniversary…but still pretty cute.

And now…August 14, 2010 – Sixth anniversity.  This one took some planning.  We have some wonderful friends that offered ahead of time to watch Macy for us on our anniversary.  Let me just pause for a sec and tell you that I love them for this.  Jeff asked me what I wanted to do – and my reply was I wanted to eat pizza from this specific restaurant that has really good pizza and go see a movie.  Jeff decided to make it even better by adding a foot massage before the movie.  Here was our proposed schedule:

2:15 – Leave house.

2:30 – Drop off Macy.

2:45 – Get to foot massage place for a full one hour foot massage that only cost about 10 USD a person.  Sometimes there are definite perks to not living in the U.S.

3:45 – Call pizza place and order pizza to go.

4:10 – Arrive at pizza place and pick-up pizza.  Go get slushies at our favorite drink place.

4:20 – Get to movie theater.  Another perk is that movie theaters here do not have the rule about bringing in outside food and drink.  Jeff and I were planning to bring in a large pizza and 2 slushies.  Awesome.  The only English movie that was playing right now is “Ocean World”, which was not my first pick, but I was so excited about getting to see a movie that I didn’t care.

6:00 – Leave theater.  Go pick up Macy.

Our afternoon went exactly according to plan, which living in this culture, is absolutely amazing.  We dropped Macy off on time, had a wonderful foot massage, made it to the pizza place and they had our pizza waiting, and then got to the movie right on time.  We found our seats, opened up our pizza, and brought out the drinks.  We dug in.  We talked about how well our date had gone.  And then the movie started.  It was not Ocean World.  It was Toy Story 3 (which amazingly enough, we had already seen).  And…it was not in English.  Hmm.

We walked back out and asked the usher if we were in the wrong theater.  I had called several times to make sure that at this time at this theater was going to be Ocean World in English with subtitles.  But, it was not meant to be.  We went back out of the theater and asked for our money back.  Fortunately, the pizza was so good, and the company was even better – I honestly didn’t even mind that we weren’t getting to see a movie.

So here we were on a Saturday afternoon with free babysitting for another 2 hours.  And then we passed a hair salon.  Plenty of time for a hair wash/head massage/blowdry!  We made it back to our friend’s house with time to spare and clean scalps.  Overall a very, very nice anniversity.

One thought on “The Anniversities

Leave a Reply

