What Time Is It Anyway?

This morning was very strange.

Since living here, I have gone through two digital alarm clocks that were dual system – meaning you could plug them in to either a 110 or 220 volt system.  These however both went kaput after just a few months of use.  So for the past year or so, I’ve used Jeff’s very small travel alarm clock that runs on batteries.

Macy normally wakes up between 6:45 and 7 AM.  This allows me to set the alarm for like half an hour before that, so that I can get up and get a jump start on the morning.

Macy also loves to touch the little alarm clock.  If you push the big blue “snooze” button, it lights up.  This, of course, is hours of fun.

This morning, I woke up to Macy whimpering a little in her bed.  She cried out and then was quiet.  I checked the clock.  It said 6:45.  PM.  My first thought was – oh, no.  My alarm didn’t go off.  It must have somehow got changed to PM instead of AM.  Macy.

I (quietly) jumped up and got into the shower, hoping I could make it out before Macy woke up, since she hardly ever sleeps past 7.  I brushed my teeth, combed my hair, and grabbed a stack of Macy’s dirty clothes to throw into the washer.  Hmm, I thought.  It’s strange that it is still so dark outside.  But it was pretty early.

I walked back into the bedroom to put some socks on.  Hmm, I thought.  It’s strange that Macy hasn’t woken up yet.  She must really be sleeping in today.

I went into the living room and turned on the light.  And then I looked at the clock.

It was 5:31.  AM.

No wonder it was so dark outside.  No wonder Macy had gone back to sleep.  She must have messed with my alarm clock sometime yesterday and I didn’t notice.

I stood there for a second debating.  Option one – I could stay up, get some things done without having to chase a one-year-old.  Option two – I could go back to sleep until said one-year-old woke up.

I didn’t debate for very long.  I turned off the living room light, went back into the bedroom, and laid back in bed with my jeans and t-shirt on and hair soaking wet.

At 7, I heard Macy cry again.  This time, I knew it was really morning.

Leave a Reply

