I’m Actually From Here

There’s a little thing most ex-pats know about called reverse culture shock.  This little guy shows his ugly face in moments where your home culture suddenly feels very foreign.  Examples include:

  • Not realizing that there are free refills.  Everywhere.  I went back up to the Coke machine and almost asked how much I needed to pay.
  • You have to take your shoes off when you go through security at the airport.  And Macy’s giraffe had to go through the X-ray machine.
  • Not knowing that Courteney Cox and David Arquette broke up – how could I have missed that?!  🙂
  • I missed the Christmas special episode of Glee.  (Or I’ve actually never watched an episode of Glee.)
  • Re-learning how to drive.  And realizing that I drive much, much slower now.
  • Macy walking up to random Asian people and telling them “hi” while blowing kisses.  Some of them don’t really know what to do with that.
  • Macy walking up to random children and telling them “hi” while blowing kisses.  Two little girls started to hide behind their grandmother.  (Maybe I just have a really social child and this is not reverse culture shock).
  • Macy asking for rice at almost every meal.
  • Freebirds changed their menu (and what they call the different sizes) and I didn’t know how to order my burrito.  Now that was culture shock.
  • Trying to throw a really small load into my mom’s washer machine.  I have forgotten what it was like to not do laundry every day.  (See Four in a Day)
  • Going to Kroger just to walk up and down the aisles.  Jeff buying an egg roll just to see what it tasted like.

Oh, reverse culture shock.  All of this has happened in only our first three days home.  To be continued…

2 thoughts on “I’m Actually From Here

  1. lovin’ it! oh reverse culture shock! it’s so not fun, but with a bit of perspective usually very interesting. someone tried to tell us what glee was but i’m still totally confused. as far as courtney cox, who’s that? just kidding! though i’m so far removed from popular culture that ithe phrase “who’s/what’s that?” probably falls from my mouth more times than i care to admit! keep the posts comin’… they’re great entertainment for those of us on this side! (((hugs)))

  2. Pingback: I’m Actually From Here part 2 « Every Moment Afterward

Leave a Reply

