The Eighth Valentine

On our first Valentine’s Day as a couple, Jeff came over to my parent’s house, serenaded me with “My Valentine” (complete with guitar), gave me flowers, and took me out to dinner.  I had spent the afternoon making him a card and my very own cookie cake with some kind of candy (who remembers?) that said I Love You.

My, how far we’ve come.

Jeff and I have been married now for about 6 1/2 years and we realized today this was our eighth Valentine’s Day together.  Unfortunately, I can’t remember many of the other Valentine’s Days – I really should write this stuff down – but today was just about perfect and was right up there with the serenade and flowers.

Here was Macy’s schedule:

8 AM: Get picked up by Grandmommy and Buddy.

8:20 AM: Go out to breakfast and get to eat off of Grandmommy and Buddy’s plates.  Yum.

9:00 AM – 12:30 PM: Play, play, play.  Eat lunch.

1:00 PM – 2:30ish: Nap.

2:30 PM – 3:30ish: Play at a neighborhood park with Grandmommy.

3:30: Get picked up by Mommy and Daddy.

3:50: Drive out to Mama and Papa’s house (my parents).

4:15-7:00: Play outside.  Eat dinner.  Take a bath.  Play some more.

She had a pretty great day.

And because of her busy day, we got to celebrate Valentine’s Day most of the day – eating at a nice Italian place for lunch, shopping at one of my favorite malls (where I ended up buying something for Macy), and eating at a nice Italian place for dinner.  I bet you can’t guess what my favorite type of food is.

Thought I’d get a quick picture of the two of us “all dressed up”…

But somebody else wanted to be in the picture too…

Happy Valentine’s Day!

One thought on “The Eighth Valentine

Leave a Reply

