Marshmallows?

And today I realized I was still in reverse culture shock.

I went to the grocery store with Macy to pick up some things for our trip with Jeff’s family.  We’re going “camping” near Austin – I put camping in quotation marks, because I’m told that it’s not really camping unless you sleep in a tent – and we’re in charge of the meal for one night, including s’mores.  Yum.  So I volunteered to get the graham crackers, marshmallows and Hershey’s chocolate.  Yum again.

Macy and I made it to the grocery store, no problem, which is no small feat since I still am not quite sure about getting around in the part of Houston that we are staying in (I grew up in suburbia, sorry).  As soon as we walked into the store, she cried out, “Mickey Mouse!”  Our grocery store is so kid-friendly that we have these special car/buggies that have TV screens – yes, TV screens – inside of them with doors that lock your kids inside (interesting).  You get to choose the program, and I choose Mickey Mouse every time.  She’s a big fan.

Anyway, we get in the store and I’m going through the list in my head.  Graham crackers, marshmallows, and Hershey’s chocolate.  Hmm, I think.  Graham crackers?  What aisle would those be on?  I go to the cracker aisle.  Oops.  First sign you haven’t lived in American in awhile.  Graham crackers are definitely on the cookie aisle.

This doesn’t take long, however, because the aisles are just one lane apart.  Marshmallows, on the other hand, have me truly stumped.  I check the candy aisle first.  Nope.  Then, I check their “directory”, which is hanging at the top of the store, which says “Marshmallows – aisle 26”.  I walk that way and find myself in face washes, soaps, and hair products.  Maybe time for someone to update their directory.

I wander back to the other side and am reading all the signs and still can’t figure it out.  Marshmallows, marshmallows.  I know exactly where you are on the east side – considering the fact that we have only found one store in our city that sells the unflavored kind.

Finally, I found an employee.  “Excuse me, do you know where the marshmallows are?”

She is actually stumped for a second.  This makes me feel a lot better.

“Hmm.  Oh, aisle 12.  Definitely aisle 12.”

This, of course, is the baking aisle.  Duh.

And there are the marshmallows just waiting to be found.

Don’t worry – I had no trouble finding the Hershey’s chocolate.

One thought on “Marshmallows?

  1. great post! i so know the “where in the world did they put ____?” feeling! hate it. makes me feel stupid. 😦 one of my all time pet peeves in the states is the new reality that people can’t go anywhere without being entertained by at least one tv. ugh. i have serious problems with sensory overload. and i don’t predict it’ll get any better. bummer… for me.

Leave a Reply

