Snowballs

Today is my dad’s birthday.  I can’t remember how old he is – but since my mom is 39, I’m guessing he’s like 39 1/2.  (Just kidding, Dad.  Of course I know how old you are.  I think.)

We talked about taking him out to dinner tonight, but in the end, decided to do a birthday lunch at one of my dad’s favorite restaurants – Kenny & Ziggy’s.  For those of you not from Houston, Kenny & Ziggy’s is a pretty authentic New York deli kind of place.  Decorated with Broadway programs, movie posters like Casablanca and When Harry Met Sally, and a menu complete with Yiddish phrases – it is one of my favorite places in Houston.  My dad always gets the lox plate – your choice of fish, bagel complete with lettuce, tomato and a side.  Mom and Jeff shared a corned beef sandwich and I ordered (off the kid’s menu, mind you) a bagel with Nova Lox, lettuce, and tomato.  Yum, yum.  And we all got our own Dr. Brown’s Cream Soda.  Extra yum.

If you’re interested in Kenny & Ziggy’s, you can check it out here.  I think they were even on the show Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives.

Tonight, we celebrated by eating dinner at home and enjoying Dad’s purple snowball “cake”.

Singing happy birthday to Papa…Macy couldn’t take her eyes off the candles

Macy was the only one who enjoyed the snowball -have you ever tasted one of these?  I was not the biggest fan.

Yummy!

My mom won the birthday card contest this year…I couldn’t stop laughing after I read the card she picked out for my dad.

For some reason, this was just the funniest card to me.  🙂

All in all, it was a pretty good day.  I loved being home to celebrate my dad.  Happy birthday Daddy!

One thought on “Snowballs

Leave a Reply

