I Don’t Like Mustard

After Jeff and I had been married probably a few months or so, we were eating dinner with his parents at Schlotzsky’s.  They ordered a big sandwich and we were all going to split it.  I took a big bite and tried not to make a face.  I leaned over to Jeff and said – should we tell them?  They overheard me, stopped eating, and just looked at me.  I leaned forward and said…

I don’t like mustard.

They laughed out loud.  Looking back, I can totally see how they thought I was going to tell them I was pregnant.  But I just didn’t like mustard.

When I called Jeanette and Larry from Thailand to tell them that I was pregnant with Macy, I had Jeanette on the phone first and all I said was, “I don’t like mustard.”  She got it right away and was pretty excited about the birth of her fifth grandchild.

And from then on (the pregnancy not the sandwich-eating), life has never been the same.

Sometimes I think back and try to remember what life was like before Macy.  It’s difficult, but I can remember snippets of traveling, watching movies, reading books, and eating dinner at restaurants with no kid’s menu.  Even though it may have been “easier”, I wouldn’t trade it for life without my Macy-girl.

So we celebrated my second (kind-of third) Mother’s Day today.  My memory stick is acting up, so we just snapped a quick shot with my mom’s.

Goodness, I love that little girl.  Happy Mother’s Day to all you mommies out there.  Thank you for all that you do – cleaning up, cooking dinner, playing games, and reading books.  It doesn’t go unnoticed.

Leave a Reply

