Birthday Eve

I’m reminded that tomorrow is Macy’s birthday not because of the presents she’s already opened, the party she had tonight, or the six Capri Suns that she downed (okay, maybe it was four).  No, I’m reminded it’s Macy’s birthday tomorrow because my dad and Jeff are watching the NBA finals.

Strange, I know.

When I was 9 months pregnant with Macy, Jeff and I spent our last moments as “just” a married couple doing what normal couples do while they await the birth of their first child.  We took a tour of the Thai emperor’s old house, sat on a boat ride down the river, saw the Emerald Buddha, and drank lots of Starbucks (decaf, of course).  Oh – well, maybe that is not quite what normal couples do.  But we were waiting in Thailand so Jeff thought we should take the opportunity to see the city.  I, on the other hand, was very pregnant and very hot and my swollen feet demanded that for the last two weeks we stopped touring and started…well, um sitting.  In the air-conditioning.

(As a sidenote, I just scrolled through our pictures during our touring in Thailand.  I found a couple of me at 9 months pregnant standing in front of various Thai landmarks.  I just didn’t have the heart to post a picture where I look that…terrible.)

During the weeks of sitting, the Rockets were playing the Lakers in the playoffs.  We used to get up in the mornings and watch the games live – nighttime for the US is daytime for Asia – and we rooted until the poor Rockets just couldn’t quite beat the Lakers.  Sad day.

And that’s what made me reflect on the birth of my first baby.

Tonight, we celebrated in style Macy’s birth at a little place they like to call “Pump It Up”.  You’ve never seen a happier kid.  All those jumpy toys and slides with all her cousins and good friends was toddler heaven.  She barely slowed down the entire time.  As I watched her, I thought – wow, how in the world could my little girl be two already?  It feels like just yesterday I was huffing and puffing to get up several flight of stairs.  (Oh, maybe that was just yesterday).

I’ll have to post more pics of Macy’s party later, but I’ll leave you with one that we snapped right before going out the door.

The fact that we got her to look toward the camera is in itself, a miracle.

So happy birthday tomorrow baby girl.  And here’s to many, many more.  We love you.

One thought on “Birthday Eve

  1. hi baby girl, can’t believe you are 2. it does seem like yesterday we were in thailand waiting for you!!! what a great gift you have been.
    i love you so much

Leave a Reply

