Going to the Bathroom

I thought of this quote recently…

Lorelai: Okay, but think about it. Why do we need the word “potty”? Is it really that much harder for a kid to learn the word “bathroom”?
Rory: I don’t know.
Lorelai: “Timmy, do you have to go potty?” or “Timmy, do you have to go to the bathroom?” See, it’s interchangeable.
Rory: Not exactly interchangeable.
Lorelai: How is it not interchangeable?
Rory: To go potty is an action. To go to the bathroom is to go into a specific place.
Lorelai: I hate the word “potty.”
Rory: Well, what did you teach me to say?
Lorelai: Bathroom.
Rory: You did?
Lorelai: Yes, of course.
Rory: I’m two, I come up to you and I say, “Mommy, Mommy, I have to go to the…”
Lorelai: The room where legends die!

Leave a Reply

