Beauty School Drop Out

I have a confession to make.  I was a drop-out.  Of potty training.

For some reason, this made me think of the movie Grease and the scene where that girl drops out of beauty school and the angels or girls at the beauty school (or whatever they are) sing to her about being a beauty school drop out.  I have no idea why that popped into my head.  I’m not even a huge fan of Grease.

But I digress.

The potty training was not going well.  I guess I really thought (despite what other people told me) that in one weekend, Macy would be pretty well on her way to wearing underwear most of the time.  After two years in diapers, she would just suddenly be ready.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

Things started off okay; I was seeing progress at the beginning.  But then we started to go backward.  She wouldn’t tell me when she needed to go and if I put her on the toilet, she would holler.  It was like she was afraid to go or something.  Or just that stubborn.  We were going threw like seven pair of underwear a day.  Plus towels to clean up the floor.  It was not pretty.

Hmm.

I should have no known better.  When we started feeding Macy solid food, she began to throw it up.  According to the doctor (after tests were done), she just didn’t like the way it made her stomach feel.  So she threw it up.  Awesome.  When we tried to get Macy to sleep through the night, she screamed and screamed until I felt like the worst mother on the planet.  (This time, I was more stubborn.  I needed sleep.  Macy gave up after a few nights).  When Macy started walking and then running, we couldn’t get her to stay within a safe, close distance.  Even in a crowded mall, grocery store, sidewalk, etc.  She wanted to RUN.

So when we started potty training, I should have known it would be no picnic.  She has a very independent (“I do it myself, Mommy!!”) spirit.

I’m now thinking I should buy “The Strong Willed Child” on Kindle.

So it wasn’t going well and we had a two day trip out to the countryside – including van travel, bus travel, three-wheeled vehicle travel, and taxi travel.  I didn’t see any way to keep Macy out of diapers – unless I brought a whole lot of clean underwear.  So back to the diapers we went.

I was a potty training drop out.  I hope no one comes and sings a song to me about it in my dreams.

After the two days of travel (in the rain, no less), we got back in time for Jeff’s birthday.  I didn’t feel like starting over again on a day I was supposed to be celebrating the birth of my husband.  So I didn’t.

But the next day, we started over.  No potty movies, no special talks…just a do-over.  I had very low expectations.

For the last two days, she’s actually being able to wear the same underwear most of the day.  My extra load of laundry is no longer needed.  I’ve even taken her outside to play for a hour or so in underwear.  For anything longer, I’ll still put her in a pull-up, but we’ll try to go to the bathroom.

She doesn’t seem as upset by the whole thing.  She’s willing to just get on the toilet, go to the bathroom, and wash her hands.  She doesn’t even remember most of the time to ask for the reward (one M&M).  Now granted, I’m having to remind her to go, but this is WAY better than it was a few weeks ago.

So who knows?  Maybe tomorrow I’ll be writing about the terrible day we had potty training.  But today was not bad.  Not bad at all.  I can see progress.  There might even be a light at the end of the tunnel.

I’ve still got almost three months until baby #2.  It might actually happen.

3 thoughts on “Beauty School Drop Out

  1. Don’t beat yourself up, Amy. Potty training isn’t always a one time teaching and you’re done. Some kids do potty training like that. Most do not. And I can tell you that potty training your second won’t be like potty training your first. That’s just the way it goes (otherwise, what would we have to increase our prayer life?). Start and stop when it works best for you. It’s all okay. Give yourself and Macy all the grace you need.

  2. I totally feel your pain. At the age of 2, Finley started showing major signs of being interested in potty training. We even did the potty training boot camp (staying naked/in panties all day) with me taking her to the potty every 30 minutes. I thought we were making progress….She peed in the potty a few times and even pooped once. Then it all stopped. She refused to use the potty anymore and said she wanted her diaper. At her doctor’s advice, I gave the diaper back. He said–she’ll do it when she’s ready. Just as she was about to turn 3, I started reading all the potty training stuff out there. I thought it was crazy to have a kid her age that still wasn’t using the potty full time. I was getting ready to start some new tactics, and then low and behold, 2 weeks after her 3rd birthday, she asked for panties and started using the potty (#1 and #2!!). We still have to do pullups/diapers at nap/night time, but other than that she does great (only 1 or 2 accidents since she started). I guess her doc was right, and she just had to be ready in her own mind.

    Hang in there….you know your child best. Finley wanted to feel in control of the situation, and I guess I can understand that. Her doc says the 2 things all humans control no matter what their parents want them to do are eating and using the toilet. She does a really good job of controlling both =)

  3. We followed the book “Potty Training in 3 Days” and it went OK for our son. But, they book suggests you stay home and clear your schedule. I can totally see how traveling to the countryside can disrupt your potty training. Every kid is different and Macy just may not be ready. I can already tell you Sianna is going to so challenging to potty train because she’s challenging in every area! I think you and I should let our girls have a play date with Dr. Dobson while we go out for coffee. 🙂

Leave a Reply

