Read Aloud

I get a lot of joy from reading to Macy.  On a good day, we’ll sit down three to four times during the day and read some books together.  On a crazier day, I still just about always make time before bed for reading.  It’s one of the few times that she’ll snuggle up.  I’ve also noticed that baby #2 will often get pretty active while I read to Macy.  I don’t know if this is because Macy is basically laying on her or if she likes books too.  Probably a little of both.

Tonight, I asked her to read to me.  I didn’t know how much fun it would be until she started.  In the past, when I’ve asked, she’ll just kind of babble along with the pictures.  But tonight, she actually “read” to me – meaning she knew the words on each page (most of them) and read me the book.  It was pretty awesome.

Of course, I wanted to share this moment – with Jeff, with her grandparents, with whoever would watch it – so I asked Macy if I could record her.

“Macy, will you read Mommy the book again and I’ll record it? And then you can watch it.”  (She loves watching herself in our home movies)

“Okay.”

The first few takes were failures.  She just wants to see herself on the screen and it’s difficult to explain to a two-year-old that you first have to create something (i.e. her reading the book) in order to have a movie to watch.

I went to bribery.

It worked.

I actually got her to read a good portion of the book to me and recorded it.  The book is “Dear Zoo” and if you haven’t read it, it’s about a kid who writes to the zoo to send him or her a pet and the zoo sends lots of different animals – “they sent me a _____ and it was too _____.  I sent it back.”  Plus, you have to flip open tabs to be able to see the animals – something every child enjoys.  It’s a pretty cute book.

So here’s Macy and her first take on the read aloud.

http://vimeo.com/32504184

And then she got her reward…a peppermint.

While she was sucking on the mint, I asked her if she wanted to read it again.  Okay, she said.

This one is actually funnier to me because you can hear her slurping on the peppermint while she reads.  Ah, the joys of bribing your kids.

http://vimeo.com/32504913

Her favorite part is the page that says “They sent me a monkey.  He was too naughty.  I sent him back.”  Every time we watched the recording, she would fall over laughing at herself saying “NAUGHTY!”  I almost wanted to record her watching the recording.  That would have been a little more difficult considering I only had one device on hand.

I hope tomorrow night she’ll read me another one.  🙂

Leave a Reply

