35

Wow.  35 weeks.

It feels like just yesterday I was telling Jeff not to be a hero when he went down the Grand Canyon because I thought I was pregnant.

Maybe I should back up a bit.

Some of you may remember that we took a little trip to Las Vegas and the Grand Canyon while we were back in the US.  (A Very Grand Canyon)

Anyway, the night before he went out for his big hike (all the way down the Grand Canyon and back up in one day!) I realized that there was a pretty good chance that I was pregnant with baby #2.  So the night before when Jeff is trying to go to sleep extra early, I whispered to him – whatever happens tomorrow – if you get hurt/tired/whatever – please just come back up and don’t try to be a hero.  I think I’m pregnant.

Probably wasn’t the best time to tell him.  He didn’t exactly get the best night’s sleep.  Sorry, honey.

So it’s hard for me to believe I’ve already made it to 35 weeks.  On the other hand, it’s hard for me to believe I’m this big and still have a month to go.

Things I miss –

Being able to wear most of my wardrobe

Drinking coffee without feeling bad (although I guess this one won’t change until the baby is weaned)

Getting my hair straightened

Having people stare at me because I’m foreign and not because they are wondering if I might pop at any moment

Things I will miss once the baby comes –

Getting a full night’s sleep

Feeling the baby move around (this, to me, is one of the best parts of being pregnant)

Macy touching/pushing/jumping on (oops) my stomach and talking to her sister

Maternity jeans

In two weeks, we’ll be leaving for Thailand – going to the same hospital where Macy was born.  It’s starting to feel really real.  We’re really going to have another child.  I was anxious about having Macy of course because she was our first, and so in some ways I feel more prepared.  But in others, I have no idea what life will be like once you add a newborn to your life with a toddler.

Guess we’ll just have to find out.  🙂

One thought on “35

  1. exciting times! i trust that Dad will hold you close as you all readjust your lives.
    looking forward to meeting your newest addition via bloggy land!

Leave a Reply

