54 Degrees

It’s December 1.  And winter has finally arrived.

Hallelujah.

Yesterday (November 30), I put on a long sleeve shirt and jeans before taking Macy to the grocery store.  I was hopeful.  And very wrong.  Not only did it warm up quickly outside (upper 70s/low 80s), they had the heat turned on in the store.  It’s like the store was saying – I don’t care that it’s 80 degrees outside!  It’s November 30!  It must be cold!

A week shy of 9 months pregnant with a two year old in tow, I was burning up.  I couldn’t get out of there fast enough.

So today when I woke up and threw in a load of laundry, I was stoked that it actually felt COLD.  (Our washer is on a “porch” – mostly closed in, but I had left the window open partially).

Tonight we went out to eat and I actually had to wear another pair of shoes besides my flip-flops that I’ve been wearing for, oh, about the last 9 months.  It was lovely.  Macy had to wear her big red coat.  And her Dora light-up tennis shoes.  With socks.  Wow.

Of course, we’ll be leaving for Thailand (land of the 90 degree weather) in about 14 days.  But I’ll take my winter where I can get it.  To let you in on a little secret, I had hoped that baby #2 would not be due from the months of April to September simply because I didn’t want to be at my most pregnant during the summertime.  Yes, our summer is actually that long – think Houston weather for the most part.

Macy was pretty excited because the cold weather meant she got to wear….Brand New Pajamas.  Anything Brand New is her book is exciting.  Plus they have cupcakes on them.  We took a couple of pictures to celebrate.

She wanted to hug her baby doll in the picture.  Sure hope she’s that sweet to her little sister.

Cupcakes jammies are awesome.

So today I’m thankful for winter.  And new pajamas.

Leave a Reply

