Black Eyed Peas

As a kid, we usually spent New Year’s Eve with our neighbors popping fireworks and then on New Year’s Day, we went to Black Eyed Pea (a restaurant chain in Texas) for an early lunch complete with black eyed peas for good luck.  I’m not a huge fan of black eyed peas, but I always ate a couple – for tradition’s sake.

This year looked a little different.

At midnight on New Year’s Eve, Jeff asked me if I wanted to go upstairs and see the fireworks.  I don’t even remember answering – just rolling over and going back to sleep.  Jeff took pictures in case I wanted to see them later.

Here’s how we spent New Year’s Day this year –

Kiss from big sister

Daddy with his girls

So glad my parents made it…literally JUST in time.  Good thing Selah waited until she heard their voices before she decided to come.

A new family of four celebrating the New Year.  It’ll be one we’ll never forget.

4 thoughts on “Black Eyed Peas

  1. ahhhhh… love the pictures!
    so, so sweet!
    funny how your pictures took me back to my own happy place… those couches, that room, the adjustable bed… and how i almost didn’t want to leave!
    but alas reality came knocking (& i was missing my boy) so i did eventually decide to check out.
    hope your stay was enjoyable… and your new year more restful than you anticipated!
    🙂

  2. Love that you already got the birth story on the blog – so precious and so happy for you – both for your beautiful baby girl and that you were successful in your VBAC! PTL!

Leave a Reply

