What’s in a Name?

I think in all my years of high school and college, I only read Romeo and Juliet twice.  This is kind of sad, considering I had to read Beowulf three or four times (apologies to Beowulf fans).  One of the more infamous quotes that I always enjoyed is from Juliet –

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.”

Jeff and I didn’t think about baby names until we knew whether baby #2 would be a boy or a girl.  I figured it would be easier to choose when you only had 50 percent of all the names to think about.

So once we knew she was a girl, it was time to pick a name.

But what?

When I was pregnant with Macy, I chose her first name and we left for Thailand with no middle name in sight.  Jeff has always loved the name Selah and wanted to use it as Macy’s middle name.  He loves the different possible meanings of the name Selah – to pause, to praise, to reflect on the song that was sung, musical interlude.  I also really liked the name – but I quickly figured out what Macy’s initials would be.  MSG.

If we lived in the US, I may have not had a problem naming my child with the initials MSG.  But I just couldn’t do it living in Asia.

So Macy’s name became Macy Kailyn George and we put the name Selah in our back pocket for another day.

And then came our second girl.

Once we officially decided on Selah, we were back to our middle name problem.  With Selah, we also came to Thailand with no middle name (old habits die hard).

Jeff had suggested Elizabeth (my middle name) and I liked it, but I still wanted to think about other possibilities.  I kept coming back to Madeline.  Macy is partly to blame – one of her favorite books right now is Madeline and I’ve read it so many times, I think I’ve got it memorized.

Not only do I just like the name Madeline, I liked that Macy’s middle name and Selah’s middle name would be have the “lyn” sound at the end.  But what really clinched it is when I went to the doctor for the first time in Thailand and she was concerned about Selah’s size.

“She’s a really small baby.  Smaller than your last one.”

It immediately made me think about the book Madeline.  For those who haven’t read it, it’s about twelve little girls in a boarding school in Paris who do everything together – break their bread, brush their teeth, and go to bed.

And the smallest one is Madeline.

I was sold.

So we had a name.

And then we had a baby.  Perfect fit.

3 thoughts on “What’s in a Name?

  1. I read that some translation Selah to mean “forever”, which I think is a perfect translation that fits a beautiful little girl that will be in your hearts “forever”. I love it and you all too.

  2. love the names.
    haven’t read the book… but i’m sure it won’t be long now!
    selah madeline, we’re so happy you’re here… and that you have a name!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

