Sibling Rivalry

I don’t know much about having a sibling.  To be honest, I don’t know anything about having a sibling.

I’m starting to learn.

I think as Macy grows up she will appreciate having Selah in her life.  It will be fun to always have a playmate and when we all get older, it will be nice to be able to share the burden of taking care of Jeff and me with someone else.

Right now, this is difficult to explain to Macy.

She doesn’t pay much attention to Selah yet.  When she does, she alternates between two emotions – loving on her little sister and crying because her mommy is loving on her little sister.

Every now and then, I catch her in a super sweet sister moment.  Like when Selah was first born and Macy ran into my hospital room, looked at her, and said, “That’s my sister!” Or today, when Macy petted on Selah’s little head and asked, “Selah?  Do you want to talk to Macy?” before kissing her.

So I’m hoping that as time goes by, my big girl will continue to adjust.  I’m proud of her for how well she is doing so far.

Thought I’d throw in a few sisterly pics I’ve taken…

Jammie girls

My sweet, sweet girls.  I didn’t know I could love two little people so much.

6 thoughts on “Sibling Rivalry

  1. Umm, yeah, we are still working on the sibling love around here. One day…
    And, Asher thinks your daughter’s name is Racy. It took me a long time to figure out what in the world he was talking about. Finally he told me, “My friend Racy run around at the mall with me and my pants fall down.”

  2. One thing we’ve done (that works especially well with girls) is to enlist the oldest as “a special helper”. When you are doing something with Selah, ask Macy to be your special helper – getting a diaper, talking to Selah, handing you the wipes, getting you a burp cloth. Explain to her that Selah is too little to be a special helper and only Macy can do it.

  3. I know a lot about sister rivalry! I am the 2nd of 5 girls. I remember my mom told me that when I was brought home from the hospital my older sister ask my mom when my mom was coming to pick me up! She thought she had mom all to herself.

  4. sweet, sweet pictures. it is amazing how Dad grows our hearts, huh!?! (don’t remember who all i’ve shared this with but just in case… here goes… 😉 someone told me to continue to give the oldest all the attention and cuddles… at least for a while ’cause the baby really only cares that her needs are met, but the oldest needs assurance and wants attention. i think this (& lots of prayer) helped sterling adjust quicker. praying for all of you to adjust well… (((hugs)))

  5. Amy, you should know A LOT about siblings, just from watching Scott and Caroline!! Remember to always keep someone in between them as they grow older and are riding in the back seat of a car. Love you all, Miss B

  6. Love you guys! To think… that thing was inside you for 9 months. She’s beautiful and the girls are beautiful together. Miss y’all(ni men)

Leave a Reply

