Lions and Tigers and Bears, Oh My!

Today we took a little field trip to the Bangkok zoo.  It was Selah’s first trip to the zoo and Macy’s first trip that she remembered.  We have a very small zoo in our city that we’ve taken her to, but I’m not sure she remembers it.

We just happened to make it at the same time as the seal show.  Macy enjoyed the seals – especially the part where the seal high-fived his trainer every time he did something right.

We made our way over to the elephants.  They had three elephants chained up and a small crowd of people around them.  Macy made her way over and then we figured out the small crowd of people were paying 20 baht (about 75 cents) to feed the elephants small bananas.  Jeff thought this would be fun, so he bought a basket of bananas.

“Macy, you want to feed the elephants?”

“Yes.”

He handed her a banana.  She threw it at the elephant.

“No, you don’t have to throw it.  You can just hold it out and he’ll take it out of your hand.”

She seemed unsure about this.

Somehow the basket got handed to me while Jeff held Macy.  The next thing I knew, I felt a big tug at the basket.

It was the elephant.  He wanted some more bananas.

Stupidly, I actually tried to take the basket away from him.  If you’re betting on who is going to win between me and a very large elephant, I wouldn’t bet on me.

But I was upset.  Those bananas were for my kid!  Give them back, elephant!

He didn’t.

I lost.

He took the whole basket out of my hands and ate every single banana.

Macy wasn’t too happy with that.  I think she was scared of the elephant.

Jeff bought her a new basket of bananas.

So all in all, it was a good trip.

I did not hold the banana basket again.

After the elephants, Mom and I took turns holding Selah while Jeff, Macy and Dad took a stroll through the giraffes, zebras, lions, tigers and monkeys.  We also saw a kangaroo randomly.  No bears though.  Guess Thailand is a little warm for them.

Before we jumped in a cab, Jeff found some snacks on the side of the road for the ride.  He bought pineapple for Macy and me and some chicken for himself.  About two minutes into the ride, he said, “I’m not sure what this is.”  This didn’t stop him from eating the whole bag.  And giving Macy a few bites.

(He determined later that it might have been chicken neck.  Might have been.)

So a little different experience than what we might have had in a US zoo.  But entertaining, all the while.

Leave a Reply

