To Do List

I almost always have a to-do list going.

When we get closer to a trip (which seems to be just about always), my to-do list quickly grows.  There’s always a million things I want to get done before any trip.  And I’m very good at giving myself deadlines.  And then stressing out about them.

Last night, Jeff said, “Um, don’t we need to get Selah airplane tickets for our trip to Thailand?”

Oops.

Another child #2 moment makes the books.  With Macy, I didn’t forget about things like – buying her airplane tickets.  I’m so sorry, Selah girl.

I got on to the Air Asia website to see if I could go ahead and buy infant tickets online.  Not so much.  So I added “BUY SELAH’S TICKETS” to my to-do list and went to bed.

This morning, Jeff volunteered to take Macy with him on a few errands and I went into “get everything done” mode.  Much easier to be in this mode with a one month old rather than a 2 year old at home.

As I sat down to get Selah her Thailand tickets (yes, we’re going back to Thailand – but this time for vacay with Jeff’s parents), I realized something else.

Selah didn’t have tickets to the US for our trip in May.

Double oops.

When we booked our flights to the US (for my bff’s wedding), we booked the seats that were in the bulkhead so that we would have the bassinet to put Selah in.  They asked us to call back when Selah was born to get her infant ticket and to request the bassinet i.e. making sure we would be able to keep those seats.  I wanted to do it as soon as possible so that they wouldn’t “accidentally” change our seats giving us no access to the bassinet row.  A 12 hour flight is hard enough with having a place to put the baby down when she falls asleep.

So I put the Thailand flights on hold and called Continental.  It’s the middle of the night in the US (of course) so I’m on hold for probably 45 minutes.

But once the lady comes on the line, she’s very helpful and is able to book Selah’s ticket in about 5 minutes.

Done.

I move on to the Thailand flights.  The airline we’re using doesn’t have call centers in the US, so I call the China call center.  No luck.  I call the Hong Kong call center.  No luck.  So I look down the list for English speaking countries.

Australia.

Perfect.

This takes a little bit longer, because we’ve got some one way flights but after 15 minutes or so, I’ve booked and paid for Selah’s infant tickets on all our flights.

Done.

The last set of tickets we actually booked in our city through a travel agent here.  I’m so excited that I’m about to be done with all the ticketing madness that I call Jeff and see if I still have time to walk over to the office and get Selah’s tickets.  He says they won’t be home for half an hour.  I throw in a load of laundry, grab some money, Selah’s passport and our e-ticket information, put Selah on and go out.  I do like the portability-ness of a one month old.

I get to the office and remember that it’s Sunday.  Typically, offices like travel agents are open every day but on Sundays, there won’t be as many employees and the ones who are in will usually be the low man on the totem pole – they haven’t worked there as long so they get stuck with the Sunday shift.

But I’m hopeful.

I ask the girl if she can help me add Selah to our already existing flights.  She asks me to wait a minute while she finishes up some “business”.  No problem.  She takes a look at the tickets and at Selah’s passport and says she can help.

I sit down.

She types in her computer and looks at the screen for about 15 minutes.  She asks me a question or two, and I think we’re really getting somewhere.  I am really excited about being done with this section of my to-do list.

You know how they say, “if it seems too good to be true, it usually is”.  Very applicable here.

She looks up.  “I’m going to need to ask my co-worker how to do this.  It’s very complicated.  When she comes back tomorrow, she can help you.”

Hmm.

There are a lot of things I could say, but I’m sure this girl is already embarrassed.  Plus, I’ve lived here long enough to know that sometimes this is just how things operate.  They genuinely do not know how to do all the facets of their job.  We’ve seen it time and time again.

However, these questions still run through my head –

What have you been doing for 15 minutes?

Why is there only one employee that knows how to add infant tickets?

What do you know how to do?

Can you call her and ask her how to do it?

Instead I say, “What time do you open tomorrow?”

“9 o’clock.”

Back to the to-do list.

At least I got a few things done.  🙂

Leave a Reply

