I Love You Mommy!

I can count on one hand the number of times that I haven’t been the one to put Macy down for her naptime or bedtime.  If I thought really hard, I could probably tell you each one.  Let’s just say I am IN this girl’s life.

I guess it’s because of this, we’ve developed our own little routines.  Every bedtime and most naptimes, we pray together (and at bedtime Jeff is usually here), tell Macy we love her, and then put her in bed.

Today at naptime, I was distracted because they are doing construction on the 2nd floor (we live on the 3rd) and it is driving me crazy.  They start at about 8:30 or 9 am and keep going strong until 12:30 or 1, stop for lunch and then are back at it around 2:30.  Drill, drill, drill.  All I could think about was trying to get Macy down for her nap early so that if they started back up right at 2:30 she would at least get an hour and a half of sleep.  A tired Macy is not a fun Macy.

So I said a short prayer, put her in bed, and started walking out the door.  She said something, but I assumed she was talking to herself and I closed the door.

“Mmmoooommmmmyyyyy!!!!”

Her sudden cry startled me. I opened the door and went back in.

“What, baby?!  Are you okay?”

“I love you, Mommy!!”

I almost teared up.  How could I have left the room without saying I love you?

“Oh, baby girl.  Mommy is sorry.  I love you, too.”

And with that, she settled down, grabbed her stuffed giraffe and closed her eyes.

Oh, how I do love that girl.

2 thoughts on “I Love You Mommy!

Leave a Reply

