Insert Title Here

Oh. My. Goodness.

I think jet lag is going to be the death of me.

I sat here for a couple of minutes just looking at the computer screen and thinking – I need to title this post.  What should I title it?  Hmm.  How about title?  Sounds good.

Seriously.

Ok, ok – I know I’m being (slightly) melodramatic.  But bear with me – this is the first time we’ve done the round trip around the world with 4 people.  And since everyone jet lags at their own pace, the more people you add, the more jet lagged the mommy is.

After two nights in a row of Macy waking up (hi, Mommy!) at 1 am and being awake until 4ish, and then Selah waking up around 4 and being awake until 7ish, last night felt like quite the victory with Macy sleeping in until 4:30 (hallelujah) and Selah only awake from 2-3:30.

(long pause while I remember what I wanted to write next)

So from 4:30 until around 10, we all feel pretty good.  We ate breakfast at 6, read some books, watched a Dora, ran some errands. And then around 11 or so, you can feel it kicking in.  My brain starts to feel a little foggy, Macy starts to get upset about random things, Selah cries if you put her down.  At one point right before lunch, I looked over and Macy had just fallen asleep on the couch. I start thinking – if we can just make it up until noon.  At noon, we can all lay down and that will be like a normal nap time.  Ok.  Noon.

And I start checking the clock every couple of minutes.

The hardest part about that afternoon nap is if you overdo it, you will NOT be sleeping well during the night.  So I limit my time and then go in to wake up Macy – and even attempt to wake up Selah as well.  This doesn’t always work…yesterday, I laid her on the couch in our living room while Macy danced to music with all the lights on and Selah slept on.  At least I tried.

So here’s hoping tomorrow we can all sleep until 5.  And maybe by August, we’ll all be back on schedule.

I think I’m going to go lay down.

One thought on “Insert Title Here

  1. I don’t know how you do it, I hope you are back on schedule sooner than August. I’m glad you made it home safe & sound. It was such a delight to see all of you & spend some quality time together. I hope the jet lag was worth it 😊Caleb is still talking about Macy’s happy cake & the cow.

Leave a Reply

