It’s Not Even Real School

Since Macy was born, I had liked the idea of sending her to a local school when she turned three.  It’s pretty common for most toddlers to go to “kindergarten” around the age of 2 – mostly because many of the moms in our city work and therefore need the childcare.  These are daycare-type settings, but once the kids get a little bit older they often do include some kind of learning.  And plenty of kid interaction with games, music, crafts, etc.  I knew my little social butterfly would love a chance to be around other kids.

So when she turned three, we started checking out various schools around our house.  You know what they say – location, location, location.

The first place we looked at was right by our house.  I mean, I can see the school out of my living room window.  We really liked the facility, but it’s a little more expensive because they keep the class size small – only 15-20 kids per 2-3 teachers.

We visited another school that I really liked – but alas, it would be a 10-15 minute taxi ride every day just to get her to school.  That’s 30 minutes or so (plus the added expense) in commute time and she was only going to be there for 3 hours!  Not really logistically possible.

We also looked at a really big kindergarten close to our house – maybe a 15 minute walk with Macy – but there were no spaces available.  With class sizes typically between 30-40 students, that was hard to imagine.  So after checking out one other place, we came back to our first option.

After filling out paperwork and paying the first month’s fee, Macy was ready to start.  I told her the night before that she would get to go to school the next day and she was EXCITED.  She was even more excited when she found out its the same school that her closest friend goes to.  “I get to go to Yue Yue’s school?!”  She had trouble going to sleep.

And so did her mommy.

I’m sure part of my problem was that Jeff didn’t get home until really late that night, but I couldn’t stop my mind from going.  How can Macy be old enough to go to school?  Is she ready?  Am I ready to entrust my baby girl into the hands of these people I don’t really know?  In a different culture?  And language?

Then I would catch myself and think – It’s not even real school!  What am I so anxious about? 🙂

I’m no expert, but I’m guessing every mom finds themselves in this boat.  I can only imagine what I will be like when Macy starts elementary school.  Or middle school.  Or high school.  Whew.

happy first day smiles

The walk over to school

Showing her teacher her new sandals – each student wears inside shoes when they go into school

Hugs for her new teacher

Macy immediately started playing with one of her friends and didn’t really seem upset that I was leaving her there.

As I’m sure is also typical, it was harder for me to leave than for her.

But I did.  And I survived.

When it was time to pick her up, she ran over and hugged me.  “Mommy!” she said, “I’m ready to go home now.”

And I’m ready to have you there, sweet girl.

2 thoughts on “It’s Not Even Real School

  1. ohhhh… it is soooo hard! or at least it was for me. but at the same time i had such peace, knowing i was doing the right thing for him, even if it wasn’t what i wanted! but alas, he only goes 3 – 1/2 days a week so that makes it easier on my mommy heart. i will say though the payoff has been incredible. besides understanding and conversing with the people around him, he also knows several characters – already! he’s only 3!
    proud of you! i know so much of life on the east side means taking the less traveled road… 😉

  2. Pingback: Backpacks and Lunch Boxes « Every Moment Afterward

Leave a Reply

