Love You Forever

I’m sure many of you have read the book Love You Forever by Robert Munsch.  I bought it for Macy last year and it’s one of her favorites.  It’s the story of a mother and her little boy.  As he grows up, she continues to rock him and sing him a song that says –

I’ll love you forever

I’ll like you for always

As long as I’m living

My baby you’ll be

At the end of the book, the mother is too old to sing the little boy (now a grown man) the song.  So he picks her up, rocks her and sings –

I’ll love you forever

I’ll like you for always

As long as I’m living

My mommy you’ll be

This is Macy’s favorite part.  She always pauses on this page and looks very carefully at the picture – the grown man rocking his old mother.

Tonight while reading it, she paused as usual and then looked over at me.

She put her arm around my neck – trying to rock me.

And started saying –

“As long as I’m living

My mommy you’ll be”

I almost melted.  My little girl – who about 2 hours ago had thrown a temper tantrum big enough to test anyone’s patience – has such a big heart.  And she does love her mommy.

And her mommy loves her too.

2 thoughts on “Love You Forever

  1. oh my!
    thumps are usually cause for concern. though i’m impressed with selah’s ability to hold her own, enjoying the entertainment! 😉

Leave a Reply

