Things I Learned from My Mother

I miss my mother the most at night.  During the day, I’ve got two little people clamoring for my attention and though I think of her constantly, it’s not until things get quiet and the day is nearing its end that I allow my mind to think about how much I miss her.

But tonight, I tried to think of what she had left behind.  I tried to think of what she had taught me.  She had 28 years, after all.

The list could go on forever – and I’m sure at a later date I’ll find myself adding to it – but for now, here’s what I’ve got.

  • When someone gives you a gift, ANY gift, you write them a thank you note.
  • Make your bed in the morning.  It will make you feel better.
  • Don’t leave wet towels on the floor.  Always hang them up.
  • Cooking is overrated.
  • Birthdays are a BIG DEAL.  Have a party, eat cake, open lots of presents.  Start in the morning and don’t stop until before bed.  Live it up.
  • Make it a habit to read your Bible.
  • Be overly involved in your kid’s life.  Volunteer in their school, chaperone stuff, drive them around with their friends.  Know their teachers, know their friends, know their friends’ parents.
  • Cut out coupons.  Save some money when you can.
  • Hug and kiss your kids as much as you can.  Spend serious quality time together.  Go on vacations as a family.
  • Visit friends when they are sick.  Bring them meals.
  • See your family often.  Take care of your parents.  Don’t leave anyone alone in the hospital overnight.
  • Invest seriously in a few girlfriends.  Call them regularly and see them as often as you can.  These will be the women who will be with you at the times you need them most.
  • Send cards – thinking of you cards, sympathy cards, Easter cards, Christmas cards.  Everyone appreciates getting mail.  Let people know that you are thinking of them.
  • Saturday mornings are perfect for family time.
  • Marry your best friend.

Thank you Mom for all of these.  And thank you for all the others that aren’t on this list. I love you.

Leave a Reply

