A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes

My dad loves a good family vacation.  We usually took one big one a year – to the beach, to New York City, to Sea World.  I can even remember one year when he couldn’t take an official “vacation” – and so he took my mom and me to a fancy hotel in downtown Houston for a weekend so that we could have a family get-away.  That one was actually one of my favorites.

So back in April, he proposed a family trip for the summer.  Colorado?  Canada?  Anywhere with some cooler weather?  We talked through several options.  Then he suggested something crazy.  Another Disney cruise?  Sure, why not?

(For those of you who have never had a four-year-old little girl who loves princesses, the following story will probably be boring.  For those of you who know what I’m talking about – read on.  :))

After we decided to go on the cruise, I called Disney to work on reservations.  We were looking at the one over Labor Day weekend, because most of the country is back in school and the prices go down.  I talked with a very nice lady and after answering most of her questions, I had one of my own.

“I know this is a little strange to be asking – but – do you know if Sleeping Beauty will be on the boat?”

“Hmm.  Let me check.  (pause)  No, it doesn’t look like she’s scheduled on that ship.  You should see Cinderella, Belle, and Ariel for sure though.”

I’m not gonna lie.  I was a little disappointed.  Even before she saw any of the movies, Macy decided that Sleeping Beauty was her absolute favorite.  Why?  Because she’s the one in a pink dress.  Of course.

So I was given the task of telling Macy that we were going on a Disney cruise – yay! – and that Sleeping Beauty would not be on the boat – boo! – again.  She was sad and kept asking me, why?

Mommy, why won’t Sleeping Beauty be on the Disney cruise? Doesn’t she love the Disney cruise?

I never could come up with a good enough answer.

But, we were all very excited and come August, the countdown began until it was time to get on the boat.

After boarding, we ate and then walked around some checking out our new digs.  We happened to pass the photo section by and I saw a couple of pictures they had out – family posed with Mickey, girls posed with Cinderella, boy with Donald Duck, girl with Sleeping Beauty – wait a second!  Why are they showing pictures of Sleeping Beauty?  I didn’t have much time to think about it as I chased the girls around that day.

But the next day was see-the-princesses day, and I remembered the photo.  I asked Jeff if he would go to guest services and ask which princesses would be coming for photo ops today.

And guess who was number two on the list.

Sleeping Beauty.

I couldn’t stop smiling.

It sounds like such a SILLY thing – and believe me, I know it is – but to see my little girl’s face light up when her favorite pink princess came down the stairs and took pictures with her was…amazing.  Her excitement was contagious.

DFN-130903-Aurora_Princess-7045440

All in all, we went to every princess meet-and-greet (three of them) and even saw Sleeping Beauty two other times besides that.  She knew Macy by name.  I wanted to give her a big hug just for being on the boat.  But I let Macy do all the hugging.

Don’t worry – we managed to take pictures with some other characters too.  I think Selah’s favorites were Minnie Mouse, Daisy Duck, and Pluto.

DFN-130901-Minnie-7006593

DFN-130901-Princess_Cinderella-7003645

IMG_9598

IMG_9417

IMG_9447

IMG_9530

IMG_9631

IMG_9585

IMG_9543

IMG_9469

DFN-130901-Daisy-7006550

IMG_9575

IMG_9569

And let’s not forget about the mouse behind it all…

DFN-090101-Mickey-7025626

IMG_9552

IMG_9555

IMG_9559

DFN-090101-Mickey-7079319

Off the boat, we took a submarine ride and hit the beach.

IMG_9505

IMG_9507

Don’t worry – there’s nothing wrong with Macy’s face.  She had a pink butterfly painted on it for the day.  🙂

DFN-130906-Cove-7097616

DFN-130906-Cove-7097629

IMG_9613

IMG_9618

There’s so much I could brag on the Disney cruise experience, but I won’t bore you with the details.  Their service is unbelievable and between kids’ club, multiple swimming pools, water slides, meals, and the evening shows – you never find yourself wondering what to do.

Overall, an amazing family trip and one that we’ll never forget.  Thanks to my dad for making it all possible.

See you real soon!  🙂

2 thoughts on “A Dream is a Wish Your Heart Makes

Leave a Reply

