Deep in the Heart of Texas

I never feel more Texan than when I go to the rodeo.  Where else can you find mutton bustin’, barrel racing, fried stuff on a stick, AND pony rides?  I mean, c’mon.  It’s every little girls’ dream. 😉

Well, my girls seem to enjoy it anyway.

This year, we made it truly special by watching our friend Liam take home the medal for mutton bustin’.  I had planned on signing Macy up and was filling out the paperwork – but as I did so, Jeff showed Macy a Youtube video of what mutton bustin’ looked like and she decided she would NOT like to ride a sheep like that.  I think she thought it was more like a pony ride on a sheep.  Oops.  So we cheered on Liam and he took home the gold – or whatever it is you take home when you ride the sheep the longest.  Way to go Liam!

We made our way through our favorites – the pony ride, the petting zoo, fun on the farm, the rides, the buying of the chocolate Borden milk.  It was the first year that Amber and I had our both of our spouses in tow and I felt truly spoiled.  It was so nice to have four adults on five kids.

IMG_2068 IMG_2077 IMG_2082 IMG_2094 IMG_2097 IMG_2118 IMG_2125 IMG_2133

IMG_2139 IMG_2151 IMG_2165

And last but not least, the infamous barrel photos.  The very first year we took Macy to the rodeo with my mom and Jeff’s mom (ah, the good ole’ days of four adults on one kid) – we found this barrel that you could take pictures with.  It was by accident, of course, but it just so happened that it was one of my favorite photos of Macy from the whole day.  So now every year that we go, I seek it out in hopes of recreating the moment.  I think this year we did pretty good.

IMG_2176 IMG_2177 IMG_1538 photo(18)

Until next year, y’all!

Leave a Reply

