It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas

I’m not really sure how it started, but every year I like to buy my girls matching pajamas, set them in front of the Christmas tree, and try my best to get a good shot of them together.

The first year I hadn’t quite figured out the pajama thing yet, but I’ve at least got them in matching/coordinating dresses.  Including the giant bear Jeff bought at Home Depot on Black Friday that year.  🙂

IMG_5570IMG_5598IMG_5594

(Sidenote – whenever I look at pictures from this year, I can’t help but pause and think, this is the way they looked the last time my mother saw them.)

The next year (2013), I’m trying out the matching pajama thing.  Selah is NOT in the mood for pictures, and for some reason will take a picture if – and only if – she gets to holds either ornaments or the baby stuffed pandas from China in the photo with her.  She won that one.

IMG_9720IMG_9732IMG_9735

Which brings us to last year and the addition of baby Kate.  The pose this year was completely Macy’s idea.

IMG_1435

Oh, how I loved this picture.

So the other night while Jeff was working and Dad was out of town, I spontaneously tried to recreate the magic.  It may not have been my most intelligent idea to go it alone, but you only live once.

Macy was super into it and wanted to get each girl a place to sit.  She wanted the rocking chair, but when that didn’t work out, she graciously gave it up and got her and Selah each a stool.

IMG_8432IMG_8434

These weren’t terrible (and as you can tell, I’ve now let everybody hold whatever stuffed animal they want, as long as they smile for me), but I didn’t like how far away they were from each other.  I tried again with Kate in the middle, but Selah wanted to be by Macy.  And Kate.  And tears were shed.

So I told them if we could try again on the floor, then we could all pick a piece of candy from “the bag”.  I have no shame.

IMG_8451IMG_8457

Apparently, the promise of candy and the stuffed animal thing really worked wonders.  I was thrilled.

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas.  Here’s to candy, stuffed animals, and pictures where everyone is looking at the camera.

 

Leave a Reply

