Swimming to Seven

Seven years ago (seven!), I became a mommy.  I’d read What to Expect When You’re Expecting, Babywise, and some La Leche League books about nursing.  We had a crib, some toys, hooded towels, and plenty of onesies.  We were ready.

Until that little bundle of joy showed up, that is.

Becoming a parent is one of those experiences in life that words just fall short.  This baby – this little human being – is just handed to you – and all of a sudden, it’s your responsibility to take care of her.  What will your feed her?  Where will she sleep?  What will she wear?  Is she cold?  Hot?  Hungry?  Tired?  Why is she crying?  Why won’t she sleep unless someone is holding her?

It’s been seven years since I’ve asked myself all these questions and many of them, I still don’t know the answer to.  As a matter of fact, I still feel like (and still am) a newbie at this whole mothering thing.  Seven. Years. In.

Sigh.

But today is my sweet girl’s seventh birthday and I thought it might be a little more upbeat if I focused on what I do know.  And I do know my Macy girl.  I know her smile.  I know her laugh.  I know her cry.  I know that she FEELS things with every ounce of her being, and while sometimes that can be a frustrating quality, I know it is and will make her a passionate person – one that if her passion is steered the right way, will be impossible to stop.

For her seventh birthday, all Macy wanted was to swim with the girls in her class.  So you can imagine my sheer happiness, when a mom of another girl in Macy’s class offered to do a joint birthday party for her daughter and Macy at her house – which just so happens to have a pool.  Check, check, check.

Lilly’s mama went all out – decorations were perfectly placed, cakes were beautifully decorated by a friend, and pool games were planned.  All I had to supply was some food and one very happy birthday girl.

 

We also had a small family celebration with some cupcakes and presents.

IMG_9343IMG_9356

What a poser.  🙂

There are so many things I love about Macy.  The fact that she never meets a stranger.  That she still jumps in my arms and sits in my lap.  Her love for her sisters.  Her singing.  Her ability to put together complicated Lego houses/palaces/castles.  That she loves to make crafts.  Her love for flowers and gardening.  Her fearlessness.  The Lord made her truly special and unique.

I love you, Macy girl.  Happy SEVENTH birthday to you.

One thought on “Swimming to Seven

  1. Mother of a seven year old, you got it all right. Excellent job of describing our Macy girl. Some of those qualities remind me of one of my children.

    Jeanette

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

