Those Who Live to Eat

My dad has often said there are two kinds of people in this world – those who eat to live and those who live to eat.  I often find myself in the former category – meals sometimes feel like one of those things that you just have to figure out.  I don’t get a lot of pleasure from cooking, and therefore tend to assign myself the helper role instead of head chef when dinnertime comes around.  (For more info see Mashed Potatoes).

However, I have a feeling that Macy may just be the latter category.  She loves to eat.  Here’s a list of some of the words Macy is saying now:

Hi

Bye-bye

Banana (which actually sounds more like: ba-da-da)

Mama

Apple

Daddy

Rice

Milk

Thank you

Turkey (this one she was just taught today)

Baby

Book

Cookie

Pup-pup

Kitty

Bun-bun (bunny rabbit)

Water

Peanut butter (which actually sounds nothing like peanut butter, but I know what she means)

Of these 18 words, I believe over half are related to food/drink.  The girl knows her meal time vocabulary.  We’ve put a little bit of everything in her mouth – from Asian dumplings, green veggies, and stir-fried pork to Mexican tacos with cheese, tomatoes, and ground beef – and she doesn’t hesitate.  Favorites include: raisins, cheese, peanut butter, and ba-da-da’s – so I guess she truly is an American in her stomach.  If she even SEES another person eating, she at least has to run over there and check out the situation.

Oh, my little eater.  How I love you.